2FA NOW REQUIRED: Twilio is requiring two-factor authentication (2FA) as an additional layer of protection for all paying Twilio customers. For more details, see our 2FA Setup Guide.

Unable to Upgrade a SendGrid Account

New Twilio SendGrid accounts may see the the Select button grayed out when trying to select a billing plan. This is likely due to incomplete account setup and verifications. This guide walks users through completing the verification process, so they can upgrade a free account to a paid account.

Verification processes

After creating a free SendGrid account, the following verifications must be completed before you will be able to update your plan:

Step 1: Confirm the email address used to create your account

When a new account is created, an email confirmation will be sent to the address provided at setup. Open this message, and then click Confirm Email Address to complete your email verification.

Step 2: Authenticate an email address and / or domain for sending email

Users can verify a single email address or an entire domain for sending email. Access the Sender Authentication page, and then follow the prompts.

Step 3: Add a credit card

Users must add a payment method before they're able to signup for a billing plan. Access the Billing tab on the Account Details page, and then follow the prompts to add your payment method.

Step 4: Secure your account with two-factor authentication (2FA)

2FA is now a requirement for all SendGrid accounts. Access the Two-Factor Authentication page, and then follow the prompts to configure this for your account.

What happens next?

Once you have completed all of these requirements, your account will enter the vetting stage for up 24-72 hours. If our team has any questions during this period, they may reach back out to you for clarification. To ensure your account is reviewed in a timely manner, please be sure to monitor the email address used to setup this account, and respond to any questions.

Users will receive an alert when the vetting process has been completed. Successfully vetted users will then be allowed to select the desired billing plan. Accounts that don't pass vetting will be suspended.

Have more questions? Submit a request